Answers to your questions about the runoffs on May 22 in Hays County

Although the March primary elections are over, there are still several races that will be determined in runoff elections on May 22.

We need Democrats to turn out to vote to help us pick who will be our best candidate for the general elections in November.

We’ve compiled some answers to basic questions about runoff elections.

When does Early Voting start and where can I vote?

The Hays County Elections Division has a link to the Early Voting locations and Election Day polling locations.


Hays County Government Center
Conference Room
712 S. Stagecoach Trail
San Marcos, Texas 78666
May 14 – May 18, 2018  7 AM – 7 PM

Live Oak / Hays County Health Dept.
401 A Broadway St.
San Marcos, Texas 78666
May 14 – May 18, 2018  8 AM – 6 PM

Hays County Pct. 2 Office 
5458 FM 2770 @ Crystal Meadow Dr.
Kyle, Texas 78640
May 14-May 18, 2018  8 AM – 6 PM

Hays County Pct. 4 Office
195 Roger Hanks Pkwy.
Dripping Springs, Texas 78620
May 14 – May 15, 2018  7 AM – 7 PM
May 16 – May 18, 2018  8 AM – 6 PM

Wimberley Community Center 
14068 RR 12
Wimberley, Texas 78676
May 15 – May 18, 2018  8 AM – 6 PM

How does a candidate end up in a runoff?

If no candidate in a primary receives at least 50 percent of the votes plus at least one additional vote, the top two vote-getters go head-to-head in a runoff election, according to a Texas Tribune article.

When will voting happen for the runoff?

Early voting for the primary runoffs will start May 14 and run through May 18. The runoff Election Day is May 22.

In which 2018 primary races will there be a runoff in Hays County?

Who is eligible to vote in a runoff election?

  1. If you voted in the Democratic Primary, you’re eligible to vote in the Democratic Party’s primary runoff.
  2. If you haven’t affiliated with a particular party during the same voting year — by either participating in a party’s primary or convention — you can vote in any party’s primary runoff election as long as you’re registered to vote, according to the Texas Election Code.