Chrysta Castañeda, Candidate for Texas Railroad Commission

Chrysta Castañeda, Candidate for Texas Railroad Commission

From Castañeda’s website bio page:

Chrysta Castañeda is an engineer, a lawyer, a community leader, and a mom. After receiving her degree in industrial engineering from Kansas State University, Chrysta earned her law degree from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, where she graduated cum laude.

As the founding partner of her law firm in Dallas, Texas, Chrysta focuses on oil and gas litigation in the upstream sector, as well as commercial litigation and products liability disputes involving technical evidence. Her winning verdict in Pecos, Texas for an oil and gas plaintiff has been recognized by the National Law Journal and named to the Texas Lawyer’s Verdicts Hall of Fame.

In addition to her successful career, Chrysta has held leadership positions in a variety of non-profit agencies focused on improving women’s lives. She is a board member of the Texas Women’s Foundation and was previously the board chair of Ignite Texas, a non-partisan organization focused on building political ambition in young women.

The Texas Railroad Commission is the state agency that oversees all oil and gas drilling—one of the largest drivers of the Texas economy. Oil and gas production is not going away any time soon and it is a vital part of the Texas economy, but the Commission is not enforcing the law. Those laws protect us all – from wasting energy, from pollution, and from bad practices that doom our future.

Chrysta will work tirelessly to stop the waste and abuse of our precious natural resources. As both an engineer and a lawyer, she knows the law and she knows that technology can help get us out of this mess. She has worked in the industry for over three decades, representing all kinds of people: royalty owners, landowners, operators, investors, and service companies. Chrysta has the right experience and education to make the Railroad Commission a better place and improve the environment for all Texans.