Hays County Democratic Party announces candidates for 2018 primary election

Voters in Hays County will have a strong slate of candidates to choose from in the upcoming 2018 Democratic Primary. Hays County Democrats are predicting heavy voter turnout for the Primary leading into the midterm elections. The upcoming Primary will be held on Tuesday, March 6, 2018. Democratic candidates are committed to building a future that is inclusive and respectful of our cherished American values. We look forward to hearing how these candidates plan to address issues important to Democratic Party voters such as voting rights, public education, access to affordable healthcare, equality and freedom.

Update (12/22/2017) – In Hays County, Jayme Jones Sutton, who filed to run for the Precinct 3 Commissioner’s seat, and Elizabeth Guidry, who filed to run for the Precinct 2 Commissioner’s Court seat, requested to be removed from the Democratic Party ballot.

Hays County and Statewide candidates on the ballot in the 2018 Democratic Primary:


County Chair
Rodrigo Amaya
Donna Haschke

County Judge
Ruben Becerra
Abel Velasquez

County Clerk
Elaine Hanson Cardenas

County Commissioner Pct.2
Richard W. Cronshey

County Commissioner Pct.3
Jimmy Alan Hall

County Commissioner Pct.4
Omar Baca

Justice of the Peace Pct.1 Place.2
Lisa Hernandez DeLeon
Maggie Hernandez Moreno

Justice of the Peace Pct.2
Beth Smith

Justice of the Peace Pct.5
Scott J. Cary



State Senator, District 25
Jack Guerra
Steven Kling

State Representative, District 45
Rebecca Bell-Metereau
Les Carnes
Erin Zwiener

U.S. Senator
Sema Hernandez
Edward Kimbrough
Beto O’Rourke

U.S. Representative, District 21
Derrick Crowe
Joseph Kopser
Elliott McFadden
Mary Street Wilson

U.S. Representative, District 25
West Hansen
Julie Oliver
Chetan Panda
Chris Perri
Kathi Thomas

U.S. Representative, District 35
Lloyd Doggett

James Jolly Clark
Cedric Davis, Sr.
Joe Mumbach
Adrian Ocegueda
Jeffrey Payne
Demetria Smith
Lupe Valdez
Tom Wakely
Andrew White
Grady Yarbrough

Lieutenant Governor
Mike Collier
Michael Cooper

Attorney General
Justin Nelson

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Joi Chevalier
Tim Mahoney

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Tex Morgan
Miguel Suazo

Commissioner of Agriculture
Kim Olson

Railroad Commissioner
Roman McAllen
Chris Spellmon

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2
Steven Kirkland

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4
R.K. Sandill

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6
Kathy Cheng

Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals
Maria T. (Terri) Jackson

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7
Ramona Franklin

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 2
Edward Smith

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 3
Chari Kelly

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 5
Thomas J. Baker

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 6
Gisela D. Triana


Donna Haschke, County Chair