Democrats Fired Up for LBJ Birthday 2017

Hays County Dems enthusiastic about local, statewide and national races

LBJ Birthday Fiesta 2017 was co-chaired by Paul Parrish and Bobbie Garza-Hernandez

Hays County Democrats hosted the 2017 LBJ Boot Scootin’ Birthday Fiesta to a packed house at Stone Hall in Kyle. The event featured local and statewide Democratic candidates who fired up an enthusiastic crowd. Activities included door prizes, a live auction, a live band – Bob Tom Reed and Blue Texas, and a splendid catered enchilada casserole dinner. Congressman Lloyd Doggett, who enjoys strong support across Central Texas and has been a powerful voice for Democrats, spoke about the importance of real activism taking place across the country. In contrast, Doggett mentioned, we are now learning about fake social media accounts used to prop up support for President Trump. Mike Collier, candidate for Lt. Governor in 2018, shared a story about volunteering to help in Beaumont in the days after Hurricane Harvey caused catastrophic damage in Houston. “We were all Democrats then – helping out one another.” said Collier. Hurricane Harvey was the strongest storm to hit the Houston area since Hurricane Ike in 2008, and is estimated to be possibly the most expensive storm in US history. The hurricane prompted the rescheduling of the LBJ Birthday celebration, originally scheduled for late August.

Candidates in attendance included:

Lloyd Doggett – U.S. Rep District 35
Mike Collier – candidate for Lieutenant Governor
Roman McAllen – candidate for Railroad Commissioner
Kim Olson – candidate for Commissioner of Agriculture
Kathi Thomas – candidate for U.S. representative Dist 25
Chetan Panda – candidate for U.S. representative Dist 25
Derrick Crowe – candidate for U.S. representative Dist 21
Chris Perri – candidate for U.S. representative Dist 21
Mary Wilson – candidate for U.S. representative Dist 21
Elizabeth Bryant – candidate for Texas House 45
Erin Zweiner – candidate for Texas House 45
Dan Arellano – candidate for State Board of Education District 3

Both Elliott McFadden, candidate for U.S. representative Dist 21 and Steven Kling, candidate for Texas Senate 25 were not able to attend but had substitutes speak on their behalf. Local candidates and officeholders  also in attendance were Maggie Hernandez Moreno, JP, Pct 1, Pl 2, Lisa DeLeon Hernandez, candidate for JP, Pct 1, Pl 2, Scott Carey, JP, Pct 5 and Beth Smith, JP, Pct 2.

Congressman Lloyd Doggett and Hays County Democrats County Chair John Adams present Sharon Reed-Miller with the Bob Barton “Unabashed Liberal” Award

Congressman Lloyd Doggett presented the Bob Barton “Unabashed Liberal” Award to Sharon Reed-Miller, who has been instrumental in coordinating and participating in voter registration drives across Hays County this year. In addition to a certificate, Reed-Miller was presented with a pair of pink “filibuster” Wendy Davis sneakers. Congressman Doggett also recognized Rose Brooks as the first recipient of the San Marcos Community Outstanding Senior Citizen Volunteer Award.

This year’s LBJ Birthday Fiesta was co-chaired by Paul Parrish and Bobbie Garza-Hernandez. Local Democratic clubs in Hays County each played a role in sponsoring the event. The clubs included DSDA (Dripping Springs for Democratic Action), KBAD (Kyle Buda Area Democrats), DFT (Democracy for Texas), SMAD (San Marcos Area Democrats), and WimDems (Wimberley Democrats). The delicious LBJ birthday cake was presented by Pennington’s Cakes in San Marcos.