Democrats Ready to Rock n’ Roll at LBJ Birthday Party 2019

Democrats are ready to rock n’ roll into 2020! At the annual LBJ Birthday Party Fundraiser on Sunday night, motivated Democrats got to hear from an energized field of candidates. High on Democrats’ list of priorities are healthcare, public education, public safety, environmental protections, fair and equal rights and a strong economy. Over 350 in attendance had an opportunity to hear from national, state and local Democratic candidates.

“This week the Hays County Democrats stood up for ALL voters in Hays County.” -Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra

Congressman Lloyd Doggett spoke about the importance of accessible polling places in our communities, and a new call to action against gerrymandering, which has resulted in nonsensical boundaries in our districts.

Texas Democratic Party State Chair Gilberto Hinojosa rallied Dems against a dangerous and incompetent White House that threatens our core values, our diversity and our freedoms.

Candidates included U.S. Senate candidate MJ Hegar, U.S. Rep. Lloyd Doggett, CD 21 candidate Wendy Davis, CD 21 candidate Jennie Lou Leeder, CD 25 candidate Julie Oliver and Judge Darlene Byrn, candidate for Chief Justice 3rd Court of Appeals.

“Last year our goal was to Turn Hays County Blue, next year our goal is to keep Hays Blue!” -Hays County Democrats Chair Donna Haschke

Many local candidates announced their candidacies including Rebecca Bell-Metereau, candidate for state board of education, and Lisa Prewitt, candidate for Hays County Commissioner Court, Precinct 3.

Elected officials State Rep. Erin Zwiener, Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra, Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe also spoke about the importance of voting and keeping Hays County blue in 2020.

“This year we are going to flip the Texas House.” -State Rep. Erin Zwiener

Candidates in attendance and elected officials:

Maxfield Baker, San Marcos City Council Place 1, business owner in San Marcos.

Hays CISD Trustee Willie Tenorio, running for re-election in 2020

JoAnn Prado, Hays County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 1, running for re-election

Robert Rizo, Kyle City Council Member, District 3, running for re-election in 2019

Joca Marquez, San Marcos City Council Member, Place 5

Alex Villalobos, Kyle City Council Member, District 4

Constable David Peterson, running for re-election in Precinct 1

Sherri Tibbe, running for 453rd District Court in Hays County

“I am here because of all of the hard work you did. Today I stand here as your Hays County Judge. That would not have been possible without your tireless walking, blockwalking, in the heat and the rain, mid-day sun, and yes, even one snow day!” -Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra

Help support the Hays County Democratic Party by donating via ActBlue.