LBJ Birthday Fiesta 2018

Hays Democrats host action-packed annual LBJ Birthday Fiesta

Hays County Democrats hosted a wildly successful LBJ Birthday Fiesta 2018 on August 26, 2018. Candidates and volunteers from all over Hays County and the State of Texas celebrated LBJ’s birthday and the event was full of enthusiasm for the upcoming November elections. County Chair Donna Haschke led the event and introduced both local and statewide candidates. Make no mistake – Democrats in Hays County are ready to do whatever it takes to improve voter registration, boost voter turnout, and volunteer in their communities.

Bold Choices for Upcoming Election

Statewide and local candidates spoke about the need for bold new choices that will be in front of the voters on Election Day. No candidate was willing to give ground on any race regardless of challenging the race might be.

County Candidates Look for Sweep

Candidates Richard Cronshey, Omar Baca, Jimmy Alan Hall, Ruben Becerra, Elaine Cardenas, Beth Smith, Scott Cary shared their experiences as servants to the community. Each presented their vision for a stronger and more inclusive County government that is more responsive to citizens in Hays County.

Volunteer of the Year Award Presented to David Doerr

Bert Garza (Precinct Chair 224 – Buda) presented the Hays County Democrats 2018 Volunteer of the Year Award to David Doerr. David has been a phenomenal volunteer for Democrats in Hays County. In 2018, David made significant contributions by helping activists and volunteer teams build new engagement platforms. Some of the platforms include developing social media awareness, building volunteer event coordination through MobilizeAmerica, co-founding the KBAD (Kyle/Buda Area Democrats) organization and current Secretary, and volunteering for get-out-the-vote (GOTV) efforts.

County Chair Donna Haschke and David L. Peterson, Hays County Constable Precinct 1

Statewide and Local Candidates at LBJ 2018

Chari Kelly for Third Court of Appeals

Steve Kling for Texas Senate District 25

Joseph Kopser for Texas House District 21

Congressman Lloyd Doggett for Texas House District 35

Scott Cary for Justice of the Peace

Roman McAllen for Texas Railroad Commissioner


Erin Zwiener for Texas House District 45, and Erin with Lark!

Ruben Becerra for County Judge

Richard Cronshey for County Commissioner Precinct 2

Omar Baca for County Commissioner Precinct 4

Jimmy Alan Hall for County Commissioner Precinct 3